You are hereForums / FJET / Public / Incoming Fukui Jets 2012

Incoming Fukui Jets 2012

By erineltawil - Posted on 13 June 2012

Hello current Fukui Jets!
I am not sure if this is the appropriate place to put this, but I wanted to introduce myself to you all. I'm sorry if this is the wrong place!

My name is Erin El-Tawil, and I just received my placement in Fukui a few days ago. I recently graduated this December with a degree in Art Education. I have been working since then in Houston Texas as a private art instructor and substitute teacher. I'm a born and raised Texan, so I am a little worried about possibly driving in snow. EEP! But, I am so excited to be placed in Fukui because there seems to be a great JET community and I love that its so close to Kyoto.
I'm an outdoorsy person, so I enjoy hiking and camping goodness. I'm also an archery instructor here in the states. I am dying to try some kyudo! Other than that my interests are pretty basic, art, reading, writing, music... general stuff.

I look forward to meeting you all in person at the end of the summer!

Tags

Hi Erin,

Thanks for starting this thread, the FJET Forum is THE place for newbies to introduce themselves. Nice to (virtually) meet ya. My name is David Son and I'm going to be a 2nd year JET this summer; I'm also one of the two FJET Presidents.

We're actually losing a Texan this summer so it'll be good to have one come in. If you love the outdoors you've come to the right place. FJET plans a Fuji Trip every August for the newcomers and there are several other hiking/camping events throughout the year. Hiking when the leaves change color in the fall and during cherry blossom season is one of the best experiences you can have in Japan. If you like Kyudo hopefully your school might have a club, mine does and it's nationally ranked. There are also two ALTs in southern Fukui who do Kyudo, Ryan and Lauren.